The Gang of Five
The forum will have some maintenance done in the next couple of months. We have also made a decision concerning AI art in the art section.

Please see this post for more details.

Pangaea's LBT Artwork

Pangaea · 40 · 9211

Pangaea

• Member+
  • Cera
  • Contemplator of Deep Time
    • View Profile
After over a year as a GOF member and reviewing other people’s art, I’ve finally decided to start an art thread of my own.

I’ve been an artist for as long as I can remember. I’ve been drawing all my life, and dinosaurs have long been some of my foremost subjects. My history of making LBT art, however, is barely longer than my tenure as a GOF member (shorter if you consider the moment I signed up to be the beginning of my membership). I’ve done a few pieces, and even posted them on the forum (some of which I may share again here). Most of them I’m reasonably happy with, but as you might expect for such an obsessive nitpicker and perfectionist, I always see room for improvement.

Many people tell me I’m a good artist, but truthfully, I’m not a very confident one. I’m often reluctant to even get started on a piece of artwork, because it’s such a painstaking process for me. I have a shaky hand, so I have trouble drawing lines smoothly; I make a lot of mistakes, so I erase frequently; I have a hard time with proportion and scaling because I’m poor at visualizing my drawings ahead of time; I’ve never learned how to add dimension, shading, and texture to my pictures; and I have a tendency to misjudge the size of my drawings and run out of space on the paper. :bang Someday I hope to buy and learn to use a drawing tablet, so that I can make artwork on the computer, but for now, my drawing tools are limited to paper, pencil, and colored pencil. It’s not completely out of the question that I could make clay models and other three-dimensional forms of artwork that I post photos of, but those will almost certainly be few and far between.