The Gang of Five
The forum will have some maintenance done in the next couple of months. We have also made a decision concerning AI art in the art section.

Please see this post for more details.

Seeking the aid of an audiophile.

TheNumberOneShmuck

• Spike
    • View Profile
Maaaaaaan, I can't decide, maaaaan.

Sony MDR-XD300s, or Sennheiser DJ-Style HD202s?

I mean, the Sennheisers are cheaper, but I noticed this in the review section for the Sonys:

Can block about 25Db of noise even though they are not "noise canceling."
That sounds pretty handy-dandy, especially since I mostly use headphones in the car.

Then there's the part where I've never used a Sennheiser product before. Are they any good?

Quote from: Lex Luger on  
I DUNNO!
Anybody gotz tha info?(or something like that) Help, yo!

Petrie.

• Hatchling
  • It's good to be the king!
    • View Profile
Even though I'm a tad biased to one headphone brand (see Dale in my sig :lol: ), I'll be as objective as possible.

On the Sony's

Input Impedance   70 ohms at 1kHz
Cord Length   8.2 Feet

It sounds like you want to use these on road trips or with a portable player.  That 70 ohms is going to mean you're going have to turn that player very loud to get some real volume out of these headphones at a human hearing "sweet spot".  You'll probably lose a bit of battery life (less than 5%, but it can make a difference on long trips).  That 8 ft of cord you're going to want a twist tie or rubber band for because it will get in the way.  By the sound of it, they weren't designed with portables in mind.  Also, I noticed these have the larger 40mm drivers and are circumaural so just be aware that you're going to have some pretty bass-heavy headphones (if that's what you like in music).

On the Senn's

Input Impedance   32 ohms at 1khz
Cord Length   8-10 feet