The Gang of Five
The forum will have some maintenance done in the next couple of months. We have also made a decision concerning AI art in the art section.

Please see this post for more details.

1st Person Point of View

landbeforetimelover

• Member+
  • Littlefoot
  • Littlefoot
    • View Profile
    • http://www.thelandbeforetime.org
I've been wondering for quite some time about this.  Of course, the movies of LBT are always in the third person omniscient point of view which makes it rather difficult to write a good modern story.  Modern stories focus on the first person point of view rather the third person omniscient point of view that is the much older style.  I can write very good stories that are in first person however I'm not very good at writing stories with the third person omniscient point of view.  I know I could write the story in the first person except I'm faced with a dilemma.  The reader needs to have an adequate amount of information about what's going on with ALL of the characters and also needs to have a good description of the setting and surrounding area.  I'd have to choose one of the gang to be the person who is addressed as "I" in the story.  I could just add another temporary character however this just turns it into a story with a third person omniscient point of view inside of a story with a first person point of view.  I think this is why a lot of LBT fanfictions aren't very good (no offense to anyone here.  I've only read stories off of FF.net).  Is there anyone here who's written an LBT story before in a first person point of view?

Mumbling

• Administrator
  • Littlefoot
    • View Profile