The Gang of Five
The forum will have some maintenance done in the next couple of months. We have also made a decision concerning AI art in the art section.

Please see this post for more details.

Ask Pterano

Pterano · 57 · 7434

LBTDiclonius

• Member+
  • Ducky
    • View Profile
Yes, yes, I know I'm a noob by asking this, but I've been wondering for a long time...*takes breath*

What does, "the past that yawns behind" actually mean? I've never heard that expression before and I've just been, ya know, wondering. :p

trulyfantasticme

• Petra (He/They)
  • Member+
  • Ducky
  • Very Important Rock
    • View Profile
I do believe it is in the final chapter...

How long have you been a Beach Boys fan?
Petra is a variant of the Greek name "Petros" meaning "strong" or "rock." Andi is a variant of the Greek name "Andy" meaning "masculine" or "brave." Therefore, I am tremendously brave and strong! :lol

Pterano

• The Fabulous Fearsome Flyer
  • Member+
  • Ducky
    • View Profile
Well, a good question. I mention it in the final chapter, but there's a bit more to it than that. It's a rough copy of a saying taken from Max Payne, if I recall. He mentions "The past is a gaping hole. You try to run from it, but the more you run, the deeper it grows behind you, its edges yawning at your heels." I really liked that saying, as it demonstrated how much the past can torment someone. In Pterano's case, the past was a nightmare he couldn't wake up from, constantly there, yawning behind him. You can't truly run from it, as it did happen in reality, and the only way to get over it is to face it... as he did. :)

So that's where it comes from. :)