The Gang of Five
The forum will have some maintenance done in the next couple of months. We have also made a decision concerning AI art in the art section.

Please see this post for more details.

Your knowledge of electricty

F-14 Ace

• Member+
  • Cera
    • View Profile
I am currently studying at a tech school to become an electrician and just wanted to show of the stuff I've learned.  Part of the job is to be able to troubleshoot circuits of all kinds.  Troubleshooting requires a basic understanding of the principles of how electricity.  Just for fun, I will show you a series of diagrams I have created and let you see if you can figure out what is wrong.  This isn't too hard if you know how the stuff works.  

In this first section, I will show three diagrams and let anyone see if they can figure out what is wrong.  

Figure 1
There is something horribly wrong with this circuit.  It will not function in its current state.  See if you can figure out what the problem is.

Figure 2
Some fool doesn't know how to use their amp meter properly.  An amp meter is a device used to measure electric current in a circuit.  To measure ampage, you must attach your meter to th circuit using test leads and allow the current to flow through the meter.  See if you can figure out why this will probably end badly for whoever is trying to measure current in this circuit.  

Figure 3
Here is a circuit with three 100 watt bulbs in series.  While this is technically a functional circuit with current flowing through it properly, only the first bulb is lit.  The other two are not.  
Note: The lightbulbs are all in working order.  None of the lightbulbs are burned out.  This one will require a more detailed understanding of electricity and the laws and mathematics behind it.  

action9000

• Member+
  • Cera
    • View Profile
My guesses here:
Ignore if you don't want to read. :p

F igure 1:
A short circuit. :p

Figure 2: