The Gang of Five
The forum will have some maintenance done in the next couple of months. We have also made a decision concerning AI art in the art section.


Please see this post for more details.

Multiplayer LBT RPG game

action9000 · 224 · 20973

SolarThreehorn

  • Chomper
  • *
    • Posts: 81
    • View Profile
Sorry, I knew it had already been posted but i couldn't find it,
My and my mate are going to make a game soon and we needed a program to do it.
Thanks Iris


Mumbling

  • Administrator
  • Littlefoot
  • *
    • Posts: 8945
    • View Profile
Quote from: SolarThreehorn,Jun 12 2008 on  02:56 PM
Sorry, I knew it had already been posted but i couldn't find it,
My and my mate are going to make a game soon and we needed a program to do it.
Thanks Iris
You're welcome :)


action9000

  • Member+
  • Cera
  • *
    • Posts: 5742
    • View Profile
Actually, Blitz3d is my old answer.  My last attempt was written using Blitz3d.  I don't really like it because it's so outdated (from the DirectX 7 days).

This time I'm using the C++ programming language and the Dark GDK game development code library for C++.  Combined, there is all sorts of flexibility.


Mumbling

  • Administrator
  • Littlefoot
  • *
    • Posts: 8945
    • View Profile
Quote from: action9000,Jun 12 2008 on  08:22 PM
Actually, Blitz3d is my old answer.  My last attempt was written using Blitz3d.

This time I'm using the C++ programming language and the Dark GDK game development code library for C++.  Combined, there is all sorts of flexibility.
:D Should've let you answer.. sorry


action9000

  • Member+
  • Cera
  • *
    • Posts: 5742
    • View Profile
Just a quick announcement.
I don't have networking ready yet but I did get a nice little change working:

We are now able to have a pretty sky instead of that ugly green background. I also changed the lighting so it's more like daylight.


Network play coming fairly soon. :)


Mumbling

  • Administrator
  • Littlefoot
  • *
    • Posts: 8945
    • View Profile
Nice sky.. Good job Tim, good luck with multiplayer.


Malte279

  • The Circle
  • The Gang of Five
  • *
    • Posts: 15608
    • View Profile
    • http://www.ineinemlandvorunsererzeit.de.vu
Very nice :yes
Now it really looks like landscape rather than computer programming. This really makes a major difference :)


action9000

  • Member+
  • Cera
  • *
    • Posts: 5742
    • View Profile
Quote
Very nice
Now it really looks like landscape rather than computer programming. This really makes a major difference
Just wait until we get some nice surface textures, trees, plants...and LBT characters! :D
Thanks, both of you. :)
It's a lot easier on the eyes, isn't it?  B)

Multiplayer IS coming!  I am able to host / join games now, and players can chat back and forth.  I'm just getting some bugs out of the chat system right now but it *is* working. B)


Coyote_A

  • Ducky
  • *
    • Posts: 1115
    • View Profile
    • http://www.facebook.com/CoyoteMao
Quote from: action9000,Jun 17 2008 on  09:24 AM
Multiplayer IS coming!  I am able to host / join games now, and players can chat back and forth.  I'm just getting some bugs out of the chat system right now but it *is* working. B)
Good. What protocols does it supports? Just TCP/IP or some others too? And, BTW, when we'll be able to start testing? :)


action9000

  • Member+
  • Cera
  • *
    • Posts: 5742
    • View Profile
Quote
Good. What protocols does it supports? Just TCP/IP or some others too? And, BTW, when we'll be able to start testing?
We will be able to play over TCP/IP (internet) as well as LAN.  I'm not touching IPX or anything else that few people use.  I'm sticking to the basics. :p

Right now I'm only focused on LAN play but making the game fully compatible with internet play is as simple as adding a couple of lines of code.  

Basically, I just need to tell the game to use a specific TCP/IP port (which I haven't decided on yet).  Once I do that, you can simply type in the IP and port number of the host to join the game over internet.  Servers and clients will need to unblock this port on their firewalls/routers in order for the game to work.

The alternative to dealing with ports is to just use Hamachi and play it over a LAN.  This should work right now.

LAN is working right now.  I have been testing it over my network.  There is still quite a bit to do before I'm ready for testing across the internet and multiple players (some weird bugs, and a couple of features I still need to add in) but it's showing progress, for sure!

BTW, I have coded the game to have a limit of 100 players in one game.  Should be enough. B)
(I can make it more if we REAAAALLY need it! :p with that many players, the host will need a pretty kickass computer anyway, so probably 30 or 40 players is a practical limit for most computers to host without horrendous amounts of lag.)


Coyote_A

  • Ducky
  • *
    • Posts: 1115
    • View Profile
    • http://www.facebook.com/CoyoteMao
Quote from: action9000,Jun 17 2008 on  10:01 AM
There is still quite a bit to do before I'm ready for testing across the internet and multiple players (some weird bugs, and a couple of features I still need to add in) but it's showing progress, for sure!
Smooth. Can't wait to test it myself. :)


Mumbling

  • Administrator
  • Littlefoot
  • *
    • Posts: 8945
    • View Profile


SolarThreehorn

  • Chomper
  • *
    • Posts: 81
    • View Profile
Oh YEAH, this game is looking awesome !
Keep up the great work


action9000

  • Member+
  • Cera
  • *
    • Posts: 5742
    • View Profile
Quote
Got the textbug out already Tim?
I wish. :p

The bug I'm having with chat is that the text I have "sent" to the chat box for all the players to read....that text Changes when I type new text.  Basically, it doesn't tell the difference between the last message I sent and the one I'm currently typing!

I dont understand why though...the code is very simple but I can't find it for some reason!  If there are any programmers here who want to look at the code and point out something that I missed, go for it. :lol
Code:  on  
void handleChatting()
   {

  if ((dbKeyState(KEY_FSLASH) == 1)&& (FSlashPressed==false))
  {
     FSlashPressed=true;
     enterKeyForChatPressed=false;
     memset(chatFull,0x0,sizeof(chatFull));

  }

  if (FSlashPressed==true)
  {
     chatInput=dbGetEntry();

     if (chatInput!=NULL)
     {
    strcat(chatFull,chatInput);
    chatLength=strlen(chatFull);
     }

     //Output typed characters to the typing area.
     dbText(168,550,chatFull);
     

     if (dbKeyState(14)==1) //Backspace
     {
    chatFull[chatLength-2]=NULL; //delete the last character from the chat box.
     }

     if ((dbKeyState(ENTER_Key) == 1)&&(enterKeyForChatPressed==false))
     {
    NetPutString(chatFull);
    for (int i=1;i<=2;i++)
    {
       NetSend(i);
    }

    line1=line2;
    line2=line3;
    line3=line4;
    line4=line5;
    line5=line6;
    line6=chatFull;


    FSlashPressed=false;
    enterKeyForChatPressed=true;

     }
  }
   
  while (NetGetMessage()==1)
  {
     NetGetString(chatFullFromNet,200);
     
    line1=line2;
    line2=line3;
    line3=line4;
    line4=line5;
    line5=line6;
    line6=chatFullFromNet;
  }
     dbText(140,400,"Line 1");
     dbText(140,410,"Line 2");
     dbText(140,420,"Line 3");
     dbText(140,430,"Line 4");
     dbText(140,440,"Line 5");
     dbText(140,450,"Line 6");
     dbText(0,400,line1);
     dbText(0,410,line2);
     dbText(0,420,line3);
     dbText(0,430,line4);
     dbText(0,440,line5);
     dbText(0,450,line6);

     //Clear the keyboard buffer every loop so movement keys aren't recorded as you play the game.
     //This prevents movement keypresses from appearing in the typing area when the / key is pressed.
     dbClearEntryBuffer();
   }


Quote
Oh YEAH, this game is looking awesome !
Keep up the great work

i like the background,
Thanks! :wow


Mumbling

  • Administrator
  • Littlefoot
  • *
    • Posts: 8945
    • View Profile
WHAAAA

*hides for the text*

You know I get crazy when I see that :p

Anyway, don't look at me.


Coyote_A

  • Ducky
  • *
    • Posts: 1115
    • View Profile
    • http://www.facebook.com/CoyoteMao
action9000, i've asked a programmist, i know. He said, he coudn't understand some of your's code pieces. His only recommendation was: "Try to replace "line1 = line2;", etc. with "strcpy (line1, line2);" :huh:


action9000

  • Member+
  • Cera
  • *
    • Posts: 5742
    • View Profile
Quote
"Try to replace "line1 = line2;", etc. with "strcpy (line1, line2);"
I shall give that a shot. B)
That actually makes sense...let's see what it does. :)


[EDIT] That was Exactly what was wrong, Good call!  Thank you very, VERY much! :D  :wow  It works awesome now. :)
Pass my thanks on to your friend, too. :D

Heh I should have caught that...I hate working with strings of text; I'm not very used to it, LOL.  Okay, moving on: I think we're getting very close now. B)


Coyote_A

  • Ducky
  • *
    • Posts: 1115
    • View Profile
    • http://www.facebook.com/CoyoteMao
It's been a pleasure to be of help, action9000. To both of us: me, and my friend.  :yes


Mumbling

  • Administrator
  • Littlefoot
  • *
    • Posts: 8945
    • View Profile