The Gang of Five
The forum will have some maintenance done in the next couple of months. We have also made a decision concerning AI art in the art section.

Please see this post for more details.

Linux Discussion

Kor · 13 · 1286

Kor

• The Circle
  • The Gang of Five
    • View Profile
I have no knowledge of Linux myself but though some here may have varying amounts of knowledge about it and others may have questions about it, even if only to satisfy their curiosity.

action9000

• Member+
  • Cera
    • View Profile

Petrie.

• Hatchling
  • It's good to be the king!
    • View Profile
Tried it...too many bad drivers or faults that I can't live with.  My laptop computer is Windows based, therefore has hardware that probably has no Linux-made drivers for it.  I'd have to build from scratch if I really wanted Linux.

landbeforetimelover

• Member+
  • Littlefoot
  • Littlefoot
    • View Profile
    • http://www.thelandbeforetime.org
Linux isn't bad at all anymore.  Just don't try to install it on a computer more than 7 years old now and you'll be fine.  Linux has better drivers than vista at the moment. :rolleyes:

Kor

• The Circle
  • The Gang of Five
    • View Profile
It does?  Do the drivers work for certain types of linux better then others, or does each type have it's own set of drivers?   Is Linux as cpu intensive as windows (I assume) is?

Petrie.

• Hatchling
    • View Profile
You mean CPU intensive?  Its less so from what I can tell.  There are actually distros out there which allow the OS to be loaded into memory if you've enough RAM, thus you really don't have to call on the harddrive.

Kor

• The Circle
  • The Gang of Five
    • View Profile